This page contains affiliate links: if you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we choose.
Rule-based picks, no scores
Our picks in 30 seconds
For roofs with a low dynamic rating: the cheapest tent in stock under each published weight.
1Cheapest of 110 lb or less + cheapest for three at 150 lb or less
Naturnest Andromeda
The cheapest tent in stock published at 110 lb or less. Also: the cheapest tent in stock published for three (top of its range) at 150 lb or less.
- Type
- Soft shell, fold-out
- Capacity
- sleeps 2-3
- Weight
- 108.86 lb
- Height
- 13.8 in closed
- Affiliate program
- Impact (up to 5%, not joined yet)
- 108.86 lb published
- bed 81.1 x 55.12 in
$1,099 $1,399price checked November 7, 2026; it may have changed
2Cheapest hard shell of 130 lb or less
Cascadia Cirrus 2 Person
The cheapest hard shell in stock published at 130 lb or less.
- Type
- Hard shell, clamshell
- Capacity
- sleeps 2 Person
- Weight
- 114 lb
- Height
- 4.75 in closed
- Affiliate program
- AvantLink 24169 (5% to 10%, not joined yet)
- 114 lb published
- sleeping area not published
- closed height: tent body only, without mounting rails and crossbars
$1,599price checked November 7, 2026; it may have changed
Check price at CascadiaPrices shown by the stores on November 7, 2026 (sale prices included). We have not tested any product: we compare published product pages. How we compare: criteria, sources and dates
Rack and Tent may be paid through affiliate links to stores. As of November 7, 2026, no affiliate program has accepted the site yet, and Overland Kitted and Trail Recon links never carry a commission. Picks follow a written rule, never the commission. Affiliate disclosure.
A rooftop tent's weight is the figure your roof and rack have to carry every mile. Of our 47 tents, 46 have a published weight, from 90 to 280 lb. Here they are, lightest first, with what each weight covers and the rack rating the maker asks for when it publishes one.
Every published weight, lightest first
| Tent | Shell | Weight (lb) | What the weight covers | Rack rating its maker asks for | Lowest price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roofnest Meadowlark | Soft shell | 90 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,440.75 at Roofnest |
| Naturnest Andromeda | Soft shell | 108.86 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,099 at Naturnest |
| Cascadia Cirrus 2 Person | Hard shell | 114 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,599 at Cascadia |
| Cascadia Cirrus 2 Person + | Hard shell | 114 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,899 at Cascadia |
| Roofnest Meadowlark 2 XL | Soft shell | 120 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,780.75 at Roofnest |
| Naturnest Polaris Aero | Hard shell | 120.6 | two figures on the page, the higher one | not published | $1,699 at Naturnest |
| Yakima SkyRise SL | Soft shell | 121 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,499 at Yakima |
| ARB Flinders | Soft shell | 123 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,689 at Trail Recon |
| iKamper X-Cover 3.0 | Hybrid (hard top, fold-out) | 128 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,995 at iKamper |
| ARB Esperance 2 (V2) | Hard shell | 130 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,599.95 at Trail Recon |
| Roofnest Falcon 3 EVO Air | Hard shell | 130 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,036 at Roofnest |
| iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Duo | Hard shell | 130 | upper end of the published range | 140 lb dynamic | $4,250 at iKamper |
| Yakima SkyRise HD | Soft shell | 131.5 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,999 at Yakima |
| Roofnest Condor 2 Air | Hard shell | 140 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,036 at Roofnest |
| iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Trio | Hard shell | 145 | upper end of the published range | 155 lb dynamic | $4,500 at iKamper |
| ROAM Vagabond 2.0 | Soft shell | 150 | as published (basis not stated) | 150 lb dynamic | $2,040 at ROAM |
| Cascadia Cumulus 2 Person + | Hard shell | 160 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,699 at Cascadia |
| Roofnest Falcon 3 EVO XL Air | Hard shell | 160 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,276 at Roofnest |
| Naturnest Sirius 1 Plus | Hard shell | 165 | two figures on the page, the higher one | not published | $1,549 at Naturnest |
| Naturnest Sirius 2 ABS | Hard shell | 165.13 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,999 at Naturnest |
| Naturnest Polaris Plus | Hard shell | 165.65 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,399 at Naturnest |
| ROAM Vagabond XL 2.0 | Soft shell | 170 | as published (basis not stated) | 170 lb dynamic | $2,399.20 at ROAM |
| Roofnest Condor 2 XL Air | Hard shell | 170 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,276 at Roofnest |
| iKamper Skycamp 4.0 Quad | Hard shell | 174 | upper end of the published range | 185 lb dynamic | $4,700 at iKamper |
| Naturnest Sirius 1 Plus XL | Hard shell | 174.2 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,899 at Naturnest |
| Cascadia Cumulus 3 Person + | Hard shell | 175 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $1,999 at Cascadia |
| iKamper BDV Duo | Hard shell | 175 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,995 at iKamper |
| Roofnest Condor Overland 2 Air | Hard shell | 180 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,196 at Roofnest |
| Yakima SkyPeak HD | Hard shell | 180 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,999 at Yakima |
| Naturnest Sirius 2 Aluminum | Hard shell | 181.6 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,499 at Naturnest |
| Naturnest Polaris 2 | Hard shell | 185 | two figures on the page, the higher one | not published | $1,549 at Naturnest |
| 23ZERO Kabari Z | Hard shell | 204 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $4,495 at Overland Kitted |
| Roofnest Condor 2 XXL Air | Hard shell | 205 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,676 at Roofnest |
| 23ZERO Armadillo Horizon 2 | Hard shell | 205 | with mounting rails and ladder | not published | $3,995 at Overland Kitted |
| Cascadia Wasatch Medium | Hard shell | 213 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,099 at Cascadia |
| Naturnest Sirius 2 XL ABS | Hard shell | 215.1 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,299 at Naturnest |
| Naturnest Sirius 2 XL Aluminum | Hard shell | 215.1 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,899 at Naturnest |
| 23ZERO Onyx Triple X | Hard shell | 217 | including rails and ladder | not published | $3,295 at Overland Kitted |
| Cascadia La Sal Medium (56 in) | Hard shell | 235.94 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,899 at Cascadia |
| Roofnest Condor Overland 2 XL Air | Hard shell | 240 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,436 at Roofnest |
| Cascadia Mt. Hood Small (50 in) | Hard shell | 241.45 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,599 at Cascadia |
| 23ZERO Armadillo Horizon 3 | Hard shell | 246 | with mounting rails and ladder | not published | $4,295 at Overland Kitted |
| Cascadia La Sal Small (50 in) | Hard shell | 246.96 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,699 at Cascadia |
| Cascadia Mt. Hood Medium (56 in) | Hard shell | 254.68 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,799 at Cascadia |
| Cascadia Mt. Hood Large (60 in) | Hard shell | 267.91 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $2,999 at Cascadia |
| Cascadia Wasatch Large | Hard shell | 280 | as published (basis not stated) | not published | $3,499 at Cascadia |
How we compare: criteria, sources and dates
The two limits: dynamic and static
Dynamic is the limit while the vehicle moves. Braking, bumps and crosswind push on the roof far harder than the weight alone, so this is the lower figure and the one the tent, the rack and everything on it must stay under. Static is the limit when the vehicle is parked, with the weight spread over the rack: this is what covers the tent with people and bedding inside.
Two sentences from sellers' pages show how far apart they can be. On a Ford Bronco rack listing, TrailRax writes that "Ford rates the Bronco roof with a factory rack at "Max load 110 lbs dynamic and 450 lbs static evenly distributed."" On a Jeep Gladiator rack, Putco publishes "1,000lbs statics • 600lbs dynamic • 300lbs off-road dynamic". We could not read the vehicle makers' manuals ourselves: take these as examples, and read the figures in your own manual.
and: tent + other roof gear ≤ rack dynamic rating
Parked: tent + rack + gear + people + bedding ≤ static ratings
The Will my roof carry it? tool runs these checks against every tent above, with the margin in pounds.
What the published weight includes
Makers do not weigh the same parts, which can move a tent by 10 to 20 lb in the comparison. iKamper publishes the Skycamp 4.0 Duo as "Weight (Tent + Mounting Brackets) 119 lb", with "Weight (Ladder) 13 lb" apart, and a range of "119-130 lbs": we use 130 lb. 23ZERO gives "217 lb mounting weight including rails and ladder" for the Onyx Triple X. Naturnest pages sometimes give two weights for the same tent, such as the Polaris 2 at "170.85lbs" in the specification tab and "185 lbs" in the description: we use the higher one. A seller's shipping weight (Rhino-Rack's soft shell: "Shipping weight: 97 lb") is not the tent weight, so we list that tent as not published.
Weight is not the only limit. Your manuals may also set a crossbar spread, a maximum height or a speed for roof loads; tent makers publish crossbar ranges (iKamper: "Crossbar Distance Range 22" - 41"" for the Skycamp 4.0 Duo) and mounting rules. Mount the tent as its manual says, re-check the fasteners as it says, and close the tent in strong wind.
Next: which rack carries a tent, and what it weighs, in the roof rack guide, or every figure side by side in the comparison.
Frequently asked questions
What is the weight of a rooftop tent?
On the pages we read on November 7, 2026, from 90 lb (Roofnest Meadowlark) to 280 lb (Cascadia Wasatch Large), with a median of 172 lb [calc]. Soft shells are lighter on average, but the ranges overlap: see the table.
What is the weight limit for a rooftop tent?
There is no single limit: there are two, your vehicle roof's dynamic rating and your rack's dynamic rating, and the lower one counts while you drive. Some tent makers add a minimum rack rating of their own, such as iKamper's 140 lb for the Skycamp 4.0 Duo and ROAM's 150 lb for the Vagabond 2.0.
How much weight can a rooftop tent hold with people inside?
That is the static case. A few makers publish a figure for the tent itself (ARB lists an "Internal Weight Limit: 1102 lbs" for the first Esperance at Trail Recon), but your roof's and your rack's static ratings still apply, and they are usually the limit.